Mobile diary: who do you trust?

According to the New York Times, Facebook is rolling out an improved social login platform that will let users control how much information they share with sites they log into. Of course, Facebook will still collect lots of info about which sites you choose to connect with, but that’s to be expected. One goal of this, obviously, is to make social login with Facebook preferable to social login with other services (or creating unique accounts for each service) so that Facebook has that much more data and a more important part in your activities on the Web.

Google phone

This got me thinking; I tend to not use social login much, preferring to just set up separate accounts with different services. I’m not sure this really matters, but at least I have the perception that I’m sharing less data that way. When I do set up social login, I generally prefer to use Twitter rather than other services. For some reason, I am less worried about Twitter (compared to Facebook and Google) using my personal data for aggressive marketing and other purposes.

Is this justified? Am I just fooling myself? I’d love to hear what you think.

Note: I included this image (from 2006) in part to commemorate the official closing of the Nokia/Microsoft deal, and the end of the Nokia mobile phone era. I spent 10 years at Nokia, developing software, writing standards, and marketing platforms through the rise and fall of Nokia’s smartphone business. I’m proud of the company and my role in it; I learned a lot and we changed the world.

Leave a Reply

